Leadership

Deans

Christopher Morphew
Dean
Education Building

Hunter Gehlbach
Vice Dean of Academic Affairs
Education Building

Fernanda Pio Roda
Sr. Associate Dean of Finance and Operations
Education Building

Contact: April Stanson, april.stanson@jhu.edu
410-516-7820

Norma Day-Vines
Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Education Building
norma.Dayvines@jhu.edu
410-516-7990

Susan Baisley
Associate Vice President, Development and Alumni Relations
Interim Associate Dean, School of Education
Johns Hopkins University
susan.baisley@jhu.edu
410-516-7726

Jacqueline Nunn
Associate Dean of Educational Technology
Columbia Center
jnunn@jhu.edu
Contact: Carol Herrmann, cherrmann@jhu.edu
410-516-9838

Amy Shelton
Associate Dean of Research
Education Building
ashelton@jhu.edu
410-516-4222

Department Chairs

Eric Rice
Department Chair, Counseling and Educational Studies
ericrice@jhu.edu
410-516-4528

Mary Ellen Beaty-O’Ferrall
Department Chair, Innovative Teaching and Leadership
mebo@jhu.edu
410-516-7959

Yolanda Abel
Department Chair, Advanced Studies in Education
yabel@jhu.edu
410-516-6002

FACULTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Christina Harnett
President
charnett@jhu.edu
(410) 516-9874

Jonathan Plucker
Vice President
jplucke1@jhu.edu
(410) 735-4177

James Diamond
Secretary
jdiamo13@jhu.edu
(646) 515-3921

E. Juliana Pare-Blagoev
Parliamentarian
juliana.pareblagoev@jhu.edu

Lieny Jeon
Treasurer
Lieny.Jeon@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6441

Deborah Carran
Professor Representative
dtcarran@jhu.edu
(410) 516-9753

Marcia Davis
Associate Professor Representative
marcy@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6796

Ranjini Mahinda JohnBull
Assistant Professor Representative
rmjohnbull@jhu.edu
(434) 566-8460

Centers & Institutes

Center for Research and Reform in Education
Robert Slavin, Director
Towson, MD
rslavin@jhu.edu
410-616-2420
education.jhu.edu/CRRE

Center for Safe and Healthy Schools 
Education Building 
safeschools@jhu.edu
education.jhu.edu/CSHS

Center for Social Organization of Schools
Robert Balfanz, Co-Director
Education Building
rbalfanz@jhu.edu
410-516-4272

Douglas Mac Iver, Co-Director
dmaciver@jhu.edu
410-516-8803

Joyce Epstein, Co-Director
jepstein@jhu.edu
410-516-8807
jhucsos.com

Center for Technology in Education
Jacqueline Nunn, Director
Columbia Center
jnunn@jhu.edu
Contact: Carol Herrmann, cherrmann@jhu.edu
410-516-9839
education.jhu.edu/CTE

IDEALS Institute
R. Christopher Swanson, Director
Columbia Center
chrisswanson@jhu.edu
410-516-9853
ideals.education.jhu.edu

Institute for Education Policy
David Steiner, Executive Director
Education Building
dsteiner@jhu.edu
410-516-7896
edpolicy.education.jhu.edu

Consortium

Baltimore Education Research Consortium
Marc L. Stein, Interim Director
Education Building
m.stein@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6832
baltimore-berc.org