Leadership

Christopher Swanson Portrait

Christopher Swanson, Ed. D.

Director
410-516-9853
chrisswanson@jhu.edu

Tonya Satchell Portrait

Tonya Satchell

Deputy Director
410-516-9859
tsatchell@jhu.edu

Jonathan Farley Portrait

Jonathan Farley

Director, Business Operations
410-516-9883
jfarley9@jhu.edu

Departments

Business Operations

Jennifer Imbach-Schmitt Portrait

Jennifer Imbach-Schmitt

Finance and Operations
410-516-9871
jimbach@jhu.edu

Marvis Harden Portrait

Marvis Harden

Operations
410-516-9822
mharden4@jhu.edu

Development and Learning Systems

Andrea Parish Portrait

Andrea Parrish, Ed.D.

Director of Development and Learning Systems
410-516-8911
andrea.parrish@jhu.edu

Early Childhood Policy & Systems

Alan Guttman Portrait

Alan Guttman

Director, Early Childhood Policy & Systems
410-516-9855
alan.guttman@jhu.edu

Melanie Balakirsky Portrait

Melanie Balakirsky

Program Quality Specialist
melanie.balakirsky@marylandexcels.org

Teresa Dorian

Teresa Dorian

Project Lead, Early Childhood Systems
615-604-0013
tdorian1@jhu.edu

Marketing and Communications

Hanju Lee Portrait

Hanju Lee

Director, Marketing and Communications
410-516-9891
hanju.lee@jhu.edu

Karyn Spellman

Karyn Spellman

Editorial Manager
410-516-9980
kspellman@jhu.edu

Kimberly Anderson Portrait

Kimberly Anderson

Lead Visual Designer
410-516-9837
kimberly.anderson@jhu.edu

Stephanie Turnbach Portrait

Stephanie Turnbach

Engagement and Events Manager
410-516-9837
sturnba1@jhu.edu

Research

Lieny Jeon

Lieny Jeon, Ph.D.

Director, Research
Assistant Professor
410-516-6441
lieny.jeon@jhu.edu

Rachel Eun Hye Hur

Rachel Eun Hye Hur, Ph.D.

Sr. Research
Data Analyst
ehur6@jhu.edu

Katherine Ardeleanu

Katherine Ardeleanu

Research Assistant
kardele1@jhu.edu

Tali Lesser

Tali Lesser

Undergraduate Research Assistant
tlesser1@jhu.edu

Georgia Gaertner

Georgia Gaertner

Undergraduate Research Assistant
ggaertn2@jhu.edu

QRIS

Sara Ott

Sara Ott

Sr. Manager
410-516-9823
sara.ott@jhu.edu

Liz Mull

Liz Mull

Program Coordinator Supervisor, Maryland EXCELS
410-627-8501
liz.mull@jhu.edu

Debbie Geller

Debbie Geller

Program Coordinator Supervisor, Maryland EXCELS
443-888-9375
debbie.geller@marylandexcels.org

Strategic Partnerships

Brian Siatkowski

Brian Siatkowski

Director, Strategic Partnerships
410-960-1089
brian.siatkowski@jhu.edu

Technology

LaTosha Hopkins

LaTosha Hopkins

Director, Technology
410-516-9851
lhopkins@jhu.edu

Lisa Reeves

Lisa Reeves

Technical Product Manager / Database Administrator
410-516-9819
lisareeves@jhu.edu

Janneth Guiterrez

Janneth Guiterrez

Software Engineer
410-516-9826
jgutierr@jhu.edu

Mary Beck

Mary Beck

Web Designer
410-516-9886
mbeck@jhu.edu

Doug Lay

Doug Lay

Software Engineer
410-516-0470
douglay@jhu.edu

Akhilesh Tripathi

Akhilesh Tripathi

Technical Product Manager
410-516-8966
akhilesh.tripathi@jhu.edu

Workforce Development

Christine Alexander

Christine Alexander

Director, Workforce Development
410-516-9831
calexander@jhu.edu

Nicholas Gillon

Nicholas Gillon

Workforce Development
Project Administrator
360-451-0347
ngillon1@jhu.edu

Shannon Williams

Shannon Williams

Early Childhood Workforce Specialist
410-516-9993
shannon.williams@jhu.edu

Amy Haflett

Amy Haflett

Workforce Development Quality Specialist
410-956-8566
ahaflett@jhu.edu

Linda Tsantis Ph.D.

Linda Tsantis Ph.D.

Associate Professor
410-516-9770
tsantis@jhu.edu

Melissa Carey

Melissa Carey

Program Quality Specialist
410-330-2097
mcarey17@jhu.edu

Beth Boyle, Ph.D.

Beth Boyle, Ph.D.

Learning & Development Fellow
410-818-0137
beth.boyle@jhu.edu

Becky Niehaus

Becky Niehaus

Project Lead: GT Discover
410-516-0955
becky.niehaus@jhu.edu

Program Coordinators 

Karina Hudack

Karina Hudack

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

kcortes3@jhu.edu

Julie Hess

Julie Hess

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

jhess14@jhu.edu

Laura Suguiyama

Laura Suguiyama

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

lsuguiy1@jhu.edu

Trish Miller

Trish Miller

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

pmille44@jhu.edu

Allison Rudoy

Allison Rudoy

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

arudoy1@jhu.edu

Michelle Bruns

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

mbruns2@jhu.edu

Michelle Gray

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

mgray32@jhu.edu

Lin Phelps

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

lphelps8@jhu.edu

Rebecca Schwartz

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

rschwa42@jhu.edu

Michelle Bruns

Theresa Lutz

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

tlutz1@jhu.edu

Michelle Gray

Yvette Dodson

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

ydodson1@jhu.edu

Lin Phelps

Renée Goldfarb

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

rgoldfa4@jhu.edu

Liana Vega

Liana Vega

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

lvegahe1@jhu.edu

Joyce Nixon

Joyce Nixon

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

jnixon6@jhu.edu

Carla Hillery

Carla Hillery

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

chiller6@jhu.edu

Jennifer Blandford

Jennifer Blandford

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

jblandf2@jhu.edu

Joan Turner

Joan Turner

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

jturne66@jhu.edu

Sally Gill

Sally Gill

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

sgill6@jhu.edu

Sarah Thistle

Sarah Thistle

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

srobbi@jhu.edu

Ann Evans

Ann Evans

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

aevans42@jhu.edu

Amy Brannock

Amy Brannock

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

abranno2@jhu.edu

Ramona Green

Ramona Green

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

rgreen21@jhu.edu

Nancy Gumbel

Nancy Gumbel

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

ngumbel1@jhu.edu

Tunisha Temple

Tunisha Temple

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

ttemple6@jhu.edu

Rachel Dorf

Rachel Dorf

Maryland EXCELS Program Coordinator

rdorf1@jhu.edu

To learn more about how IDEALS teams are working for you and your community, contact us at idealsinstitute@jhu.edu.